2024 SUMMER CAMPS! Be the First to Know When Registration Opens!

Denis Kudla is last American standing at Aegon Championships

Jun 14, 2013

Denis Kudla will take on Jo-Wilfried Tsonga in the Aegon Championships quarterfinals

Denis Kudla, Junior Tennis Champions Center alum and No. 112 in the world, defeated Kenny de Schepper, No. 86 in the world, 6-1, 6-3, to advance to the quarterfinals of the Aegon Championships.

Kudla’s service game efficiency proved to be the determining factor.  He won 22 of 24 (91%) first service points and garnered 66% on his second serve points.  On the opposite end of the spectrum, de Schepper only mustered 51% on his first serve points and 50% on his second serve points.  Besides the service game advantage, Kudla staved off four break points (as opposed to zero saved break points by de Schepper).

Kudla will square off with 2013 French Open semifinalist and No. 7 in the world Jo-Wilfried Tsonga in the next round.  Tsonga ousted Roger Federer in the French Open and toppled Igor Sijsling in three sets to advance to the quarters of the Aegon Championships.  Kudla and Tsonga have not faced each other in their careers.  They are scheduled as the fourth match on center court today.  Play begins at 12:30 PM local time (7:30 EST).

In the second round, Kudla upended No. 25 in the world Benoit Paire in straight sets, 6-3, 6-4.

In a field that included Sam Querry (No. 1 American), Ryan Harrison (lost to fellow countryman John Isner in 2nd round of French Open) and Michael Russell (No. 97 in world), Kudla is the last American remaining in the tournament.  With the quarterfinal appearance, he is primed to break the top 100 which would be a career high.

About the Aegon Championships

The Aegon Championships is a tune-up for Wimbledon.  The grass court tournament takes place on the historic grounds of The Queen’s Club in West London.  Established in 1886, The Queen’s Club was the first multipurpose sports complex ever to be built, anywhere in the world.  Past winners include Andy Roddick (three straight from 2003 to 2005), Rafael Nadal (2008), Sam Querry (2010), Andy Murray (2009, 2011) and Marin Cilic (2012).

JTCC logo
Follow Us